Is it right to exclude females and males from certain professions because of gender?

TOPIC 3: Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is it right to exclude males or females from certain professions because of their gender?

Stepping into the 21-st century, gender discrimination is still a rampant issue in many countries crossing the globe. In fact, both males and females suffer favoritism in the labour market due to differences in innate strengths. However, I am of the belief that it is unreasonable to exclude applicants from their jobs owing to their gender.

Admittedly, although each gender possesses differently inborn merits, they can still perform their tasks excellently provided that they are well-trained.

Furthermore, the gender prejudice will definitely be a barrier to economic and social development. Obviously, if people are given the equal chances to work and devote to their passionate jobs, it will trigger the innovations. In addition, the society with gender bias prevents people from exploring their own hidden talents and therefore, inhibits its own growth. For example, if gender bias in medicine was still the norms and the rules, such amazing and talented doctors such as Marie Curie could have never made great contributions to our community. Thus, gender equality at work can pave the way for the society's development.

In conclusion, both men and women should be encouraged to pursue their own passion and the government should support them by putting more efforts in creating a gender-fair environment.