Running own business like Bill Gates or working at a company?

Some people decide to start their own business instead of working for a company or organization. Do the advantages for people working for their own business outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world, many people run their own business due to the fact that it offers high profit. However, other people have different point of view and prefer to work in a company as they have a secure job. In my opinion, both sides have own merits and demerits.

There are several advantages of managing a business. First and foremost is that it gives potential to earn huge salary. For example, Bill Gates who is the co-founder and chairman of Microsoft Corporation, one of the best-known entrepreneurs, is the world's wealthiest person in early 2004. Although not all people can be like Gates or the high income is not a guarantee, the possibility to get lucrative money is available. In contrast, people who work at the firm know their annual payment and acquire little opportunity to add more financial.

Secondly, owning a start-up gives people the opportunity to work in a field that they enjoy. They do what they want, allow them to offer innovative products and services to customers. It gives them a sense of personal satisfaction. The last but not least, self employment have full authority to control their company. The most fascinating thing is no one can fire a business person. It will not happen if people work for someone else, they work under control as the company's regulations and also can be discharged anytime.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks such as long and erratic work hours so that they have less time for personal life. Another bad thing, having a business incurs financial risk. The capital that they invest is in a gamble. Notwithstanding, all those problems can be handled by an understanding of business principle.

In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of plunges into business ownership are clearly greater than the disadvantages. At the same time, being a worker at a company has more low-risk as a consequent of no investment. All in all, it depends on people's perspective of their own aspirations.