Should schools allocate the same amount of money to their sport activities as to their libraries?

funds distribution in universities

Schooling education always attaches the importance of academic knowledge as the top priority, this explains why they spend a huge part of their budget on libraries which are the symbol of accumulating know-how. However, physical subjects or sports facilities function as an effective facilitator to improve students' health, which in the long terms lead to positive impacts on their studying process. That's why among the countless fields universities have to invest in, universities should allot an equal amount of money to their both libraries and sport activities.

The lack of physical activities at universities or schools in Vietnam nowadays is a ubiquitous issue, which not only affects badly students' health, but also makes them disregard the importance of sport activities.In fact, Vietnamese students usually favour natural science subjects, such as: Math, Physics, Chemistry, rather than physical education, for they are often taught the success is owed to the study of academic knowledge. In a larger extent, it's a problem of the whole education system when just focusing too much on the results, scores, but forgetting to develop their student comprehensively. In a smaller scale, in very our family, parents always feel proud of children being good at natural science subjects, but unsatistied with those who enthuse the sport activities, which incidentally form an irreverent attitude of children towards sport.

That's why in a society that just a few people understand the value of sport activities, the role of universities are played more and more crucially than ever in the encouragement of the sport spirit among the youngsters. Instead of spending an enormous amount of money on building a gorgeous library, universities should pay more attention to the quality of books, ensuring students can access the variety of resources. Besides, constructing facilities assisting sport should not be ignored, but on the contrary, must be creative, ergonomic to encourage the participation of students in the activities more often. In fact, many universities with modern playgrounds still experience a laziness of students in partaking in sport activities; therefore, policies to nurture their love for sport need to be created. For example, universities should leave small space to found a sport library which educates student all the knowledge and advantages of sport or organize Sport Days with attractive prizes to inspire students to participate in. Besides, teachers should emphasize frequently the benefit of staying healthy to studying which results from the regularly physical exercises in order to better their understanding of the extra activities.

To conclude, The allocation of money to physical or academic education is of the most important tasks any universities must concentrate equally to have the comprehensive graduates. Vietnamese education system in particular should create solutions to help students combine actively their studying and other sport activities. In general, I strongly agree with the idea of equalizing the necessity between the study of professional knowledge and joining in physical activities.