Scientific activities should be implemented and managed by the governments, humans cloning at least.

Scientific research should be carried out / controlled by the governments more than private company

It is certainly true that scientific activities should be implemented and managed by the governments, at least in the case of cloning humans related study. However, it is by no means clear that scientific research should be carried out and controlled only by governments, as we will see.

On one hand, it may appear advisable for governments to act as role models in scientific investigation. Research projects on genetic modification on humans, for example, require long time study and a large amount of stable fund which can only be provided by the governments. Besides, scientific activities monitored by the authorities will make certain of research ethic compliance and minimize the risk of these studies used for criminal activities. Therefore, it ensures that the research conducted through and making significant contributions to the community. Moreover, these studies are usually conducted with the collaboration of many scientists from various research institutes, universities, and research centers in the country as well as in the world. Consequently, all research findings not only contribute to a country but also the whole world. Epidemiological research on bird flu is a typical example, which gives us solutions worldwide for the prevention and control this disease.

On the other hand, private firms are dynamic and manufacture the number of products meeting customers' needs in the field of applied science. Mobile phones, indispensable part of our daily life, for example, are mainly produced by private sectors. These products vary in color, design, quality, and price, suggesting that private companies have conducted research on customer needs assessment particularly successful. From that shown, we can clearly evaluate the role of private sectors in scientific research.

To conclude, it appears that, while the governments are essential for carrying and controlling scientific research, there is a valuable contribution of private firms in these activities too.