The environment is damaged by humans activities. The governments and individuals should act together

WRITING TASK 2 - IELTS: Environmental problems

Hello everybody. I am a newbie and I have just known this website when browsing on the Internet about the platforms to effectively practice writing. I am trying intensely hard to prepare for my first Ielts Exam in the next few months. So could you please take a little time to read and give me some recommendations on my below essay? If possible could you leave a comment which band this essay can get?

Topic: Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Answer:

Nowadays, the problem of the environment being damaged has been receiving a great deal of public attention. While this is caused by humans in various ways, there are a bunch of solutions that the governments and individuals should take into account to deal with this issue.

It is true that humans are damaging the environment more and more today. First, since the demand of convenience rises, people are more likely to choose plastic products for plenty of purposes, such as food containers or other disposable plastic products. In fact, the huge number of plastics are being discharged into the environment, which takes thousand years to completely decompose. Second, due to the industrial activities and a growing number of means of transportation in recent years, it is obvious that there is a massive amount of carbon emission to the environment. This means that the more carbon being released into the environment, the heavier the global warming will become.

Nevertheless, there are a variety of solutions that governments and individuals should consider to protect the environment. First, in order to encourage people to use environmentally friendly products, the governments could organize the green strategies on the regular basis. For example, those campaigns can emphasize the detrimental impacts of plastics on the environment and propose green alternatives, such as paper bags, which is not only beneficial to the environment but also good for public health. Second, individuals can proactively contribute to the environmental protection by getting familier with public transportation. This habit change can help to significantly reduce carbon emission, which lowers the speed of environmental degradation.

In conclusion, it can not denied that the environment is damaged by humans activities. However, I strongly believe that if the governments and individuals together exert themselves, the environment could be possibly saved.