Shopping habits depend most on age group. Agree/disagree

Customer psychologists have spent several years making sense of and analyzing people's shopping patterns. While some suggest that age is the most influential factor, I would argue that there are other aspects that also significantly affect one's shopping list.

On the one hand, the disparities between younger and elder customers can be attributed to their personal preferences and requirements. In particular, older people, due to their weakened immune systems, are more prone to life-threatening illnesses and diseases. Understandably, they have to make frequent purchases of prescription medicines in order to satisfy their medical needs. Teenage individuals, however, have a wide range of hobbies as they are still in the process of exploring themselves and the world. As a result, they would be more inclined towards products and equipment that specifically cater to their demands. For instance, those who express an interest in ballets have to renew their pointe shoes every month and pay for their dancing courses, while artistic ones would like to try out a variety of art supplies to challenge themselves and figure out their comfort zones.

On the other hand, it is my firm conviction that the financial division in our society would exert more of an impact on customers' shopping habits. Despite the universal desire to own expensive products, people have to prudently organize their purchases in alignment with their budget and save a portion of their income for unexpected expenses. In Vietnam, people from disadvantaged backgrounds frequent the local market to buy affordable food and ingredients, while affluent households would opt for high-quality imported products available in the supermarkets. This stark contrast highlights how much shopping patterns can diverge due to financial constraints.

In conclusion, while there are indeed discrepancies in terms of preferences in different generations, financial status remains to be the biggest determinant of one's shopping habits.