There has been a significant rise in the number of private cars since the past three decades

Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'.

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is a common believe that there has been a significant rise in the number of private car over a three-decade period. Consequently, most citizens are trapped on congestions for hours. I personally believe that while these statements are inevitable, the authorities can introduce some strategies to tackle this problem.

As the prolific number of private cars hampered in the road, people always suffered from traffic jam today. It is different with few years before, when people can travel conviniently. The recent study of Oxford University, which covered 600 participants from large cities in the world, found that two-third of them was accustomed to use their own car go to the office and college. Besides that, they acknowledged that those person spent much more time to reach their destinations due to congestion. All in all, it is reasonable to blame private car for this phenomenon.

On the other hand, government can force to establish strick regulations in order to minimize the number of people travelling by their own car. Firstly, the policy makers can increase taxes of private vehicles. Ultimately, people become reluctant to drive car and prefer public transport instead. Also, the government can introduce free-car area and free-car time. It has been proven success to practice in many cities. In addition, they should improve the condition of public transport to encourage inhabitants use this mean.

In conclusion, while the rise number of private vehicle is responsible for congestion, the government can afford many ways to cure this phenomenon. Moreover, inhabitant have to accept and participate actively.