What skill does everyone need? According to the speaker, it should be addressed to listening skill.

TED Summary "5 ways to listen better" by Julian Treasur

What skill does everyone need.? This question, according to the speaker, should be addressed to listening skill. Every human being needs to listen in order to create understand each other. Without this one, many things can happen when the world avoid to listen each other. Listening is about making meaning from sound by extracting process. People used to this as a pattern recognition to distinguish signal, especially our name. Sound place us in space of time. We tend to aware of the size of the room and how many people are in the room from the vibrations of microphone.

In reality, communities spend 60% communication time to listen, but not very good at it because what they attained is about 25% in general. Therefore, the speaker argue that We are losing our listening It is because we invented way to record something (writing and audio recording), which make "carefully listening" dissapeared And The world becomes so noisy that makes our auditory system hard to listen. To tackle this, the speaker offers 5 ways, namely silent 3 minutes per day to reset and calibrate our ear, practice in "the mixer" situations (in crowded) on how many sounds do we hear, savering, attempt on listening positions, and pay attention on RASA (Receive information, Apreciate it, Summarise it and Ask to someone closers).