Essay on social networking services

Hi, everyone!!!

Please, can you help me to improve my essay about social networking services. My point is positive...

If someone says, "Facebook me!", people are usually not surprised. Because, new terminology has come into our life such as "Facebook, MySpace, Twitter...". Are they so beneficial for us to use it every day, every hour?

First, Social networking websites gives people an opportunity to connect world-widely and in this way the users have a chance to learn foreign cultures and languages. Because, there are millions of people who use social networking websites, so it is very useful to learn different cultures, languages and different personality which could benefit, especially, young people in their live.

For instance, in the research article, entitled "Social networking sites and language learning", the author states that; "Social networking sites for language learning provide the opportunity, previously unavailable, for learners to practise oral skills with native speakers and to receive immediate feedback, thus justifying their designation as disruptive technologies".(1)

Second, by using social media services youth developing their communication skills, creativity and technical skills. Moreover, several researches showed some social benefits of online social spaces. And, according to a research paper titled "Living and Learning with New Media:", author stated that, "Young people are turning to online networks to participate in a wide range of public activities and developing social norms that their elders may not recognize."(5) Thus, as people have been realizing the benefits of social networking sites such as gaining broad knowledge on various cultures, languages and personality, more and more people are becoming members of these on-line tools to use valuable opportunities.

Also, recent years, social networking services showed that they are able to help on democratizing the world.

Nowadays, social networking websites, like Facebook, provide their users to organize special events, by spreading announcements quickly, safely around the world. For example, Egyptian revolution 2011-2012 is called also Facebook revolution by many experts. Because, the revolution is began seriously after creating several groups, calling people to take participate in. According to Wael Ghonim, cyber activist who emerged as a leader of the anti-government protests in Egypt, social media played a crucial role in the events that led to Mubarak's ouster after three decades of iron-fisted rule.(4)

In addition, due to online networking areas, people are able to exchange their opinions and ideas about on ongoing political issues. Especially, in the time of elections in their states. As an evidence, on the period of election 2012 of the president in Russia, citizens discussed candidates on local social networking websites and were able to talk to them directly on candidates' twitter profiles.

Last but not least, social networking has been replacing passive activities such as watching TV and playing computers games among people. Thus, they are helping us to develop creative behavior, because we use our brain often by sending messages to our friends and by posting our feelings and news in their profile pages.

With the development of technologies, the range of advantages are also extending. These days, we can see it as an example of social networking services which help us to be stayed connected with our friends, obtaining necessary skills and engaging in political areas to use our rights. Due to these benefits, we can see their adaptation in diverse populations and increase their utility. Also, as an active user, I observed that the number of advantages are overweight disadvantages.