Social networking sites have enormously detrimental effects on people and the whole community

the negative impact of Social networking sites

It is widely argued that social networking sites have enormously detrimental effects not only on each person but also on the whole community. To a certain extent, I agree with this statement. However, I also believe that social media has certain positive impacts on both individuals and society.

On the one hand, I would agree that the use of social networking sites makes people become passive and more likely to lose their communication skills in society. In other words, individuals who always keep themselves in rooms for many hours and spend most of their time surfing the webs, chatting with their friends or maybe strangers, etc. This leads to the fact that such people gradually become more silent and isolate themselves from their families. In addition, most children who have phones on their own often stay home instead of going outside to play outdoor activities, such as soccer, swimming, jogging, and so on. These children can easily become passive and if this takes long, they can get depression.

On the other hand, I also think that mass media is means of communication which helps people contact each other more easily regardless of distance. It means that social networking sites create advantageous conditions for individuals to keep in touch with each other without concerning where they are. For example, when you have far relatives who are very difficult to meet, through social media, you can have a talk with them, see their faces and know what are they doing. This thing is very beneficial for human beings, especially overseas students who can not get together with their parents because of studying.

In conclusion, while social media have intensively harmful to each individual and association. I believe that using social networking sites has positive effects either. If they know how to use it efficiently and reasonably, it will bring them a lot of great benefits.