Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them; GRE

Issue 37: Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your postion, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your postion.

Edison's saying 'genius is one percent inspiration plus ninety-nine percent perspirations' illustrates the vitality of talents in personal development. Admittedly, children with special talents or instincts are more inclined to be successful in that field of study than ordinary people as their gifts attach them with exceptional passion and vision, which are indispensable in achieving accomplishments in career. Society needs these prodigies and their talents to accelerate social development and should identify these special children and explore their potential to the maximum to the well-being of society. I fundamentally agree with the author that society should identify those prodigies and provide instructive and orientative training for them, rather than rigid and stodgy infusion.

Moderate and encouraging training could maintain those children talents in that training transfer their initial and vagary interests into perpetual motive for exploration with efficient methods and probing attitude. Without auxiliary support from society, those children talents and interests would be transient as their passion will be exhausted in numerous frustration which result from a lack of profound understanding and appropriate methods. Mozart, one of the prestigious musician in the world, who has a special gift in composing, received systematic and effective training in music since his early age and finally become a master. Both his talents and diligence contribute to his success, and a tailored, effective training program also greatly exploit his potency and should not be underplayed.

Another reason I agree with this viewpoint is that many prodigies do not have the access to the resources they need to develop their talents, which would strangle many geniuses. In some less-developed countries or regions, poverty precludes many gifted children from pursuing and developing their talents. Also, some prodigies are far ahead of their peers, formal education seems to be a constraint rather than expedient for them, society should offer them a special and designated environment for them to fully develop their potency. For example, in 1980s, university of Science and Technology of China, launched special class for talented young, a program aiming to help those talented children to succeed. They admitted many exceptionally talented children who meanwhile suffer from pervert and alienation from peers. Those prodigies find the path to decent lives later in their lifetime. It is undeniable that Youth Class provides a perfect platform for those gifted children to recognize and develop themselves.

Despite the benefits from social training and development, I suppose that society should not provide rigid, compulsory and dogmatic training for talented children in that such programs would kill the creativity and freedom in their thoughts. Also using USTC's youth class for example, there were many prodigies becoming nobody and even defective individual after taking the youth class. Some of them suffer from psychological problems, isolation and depression due to a lack of communication and socialization with other people, which largely caused by their enclosed and cramming curriculum. Those insertions impair children's nature for freedom, as well as their interests and talents in that field.

In sum, I agree that society should provide talented children who lacks support and resources with necessary, mild and enlightening training and such programs would nurture more prodigies to be socially acceptable and useful individuals. I oppose providing obligatory and instilling training for children as it would be counterproductive in the later development of children.