'special talents' parent and family background vs teachers influence on children

Parent and family background have more influence than teacher of a young person's learning and academic achievement. Discuss.

Nowadays, many people believe that parenting make a greater contribution to the youngsters' academic achievements than schooling. In my opinion, although young people benefit from parenting to some extent, schooling is still an indispensable part of academic education for children.

Considering professional training of teacher, there is no doubt that schooling is enormously beneficial to youth's acadamic performance. As professional teachers, it is obvious that they have adequate teaching techniques which can help young people to fulfil their academic potential, and youth's wisdom can be enriched effectively by teachers who use a systematic apporach. Moreover, studying at school, the various subjects can offer an option to youngsters rather than restricted by their parents' knowledge. For instance, some youths may have special talents in a particular field in which their parents do not have any relevant knowledge. Therefore, teacher will play a significant role in childhood teaching due to the variety of subjects in school.

However, it is ture that teenagers are also influenced by their parents in many ways. Firstly, due to the responsibilities of parenthood, it is natural that parents are meticulous to take care of their children, concerning themselve with not only children's academic performance but also physical and mental development. Therefore, youngsters are influenced by their parents' guidance. Secondly, youngsters usually spend more time staying with their parents in both social and leisure activities, imitating their parents' good habit and values which could be positive for their growth and development.

To sum up, in terms of learning and academic achievements, it seems that teachers have more impacts than parents and family background on young people, however, parents also have a significant role to play in childhood education.