The sophisticated information technology tends to enable virtually workers having job at home.

Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.)

Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

The sophisticated information technology tends to enable virtually workers having job at home. While it is utterly acceptable since work outside derives enormous benefit, I would argue this notion increase employee productivity.

Work outside bringing disadvantages is a pivotal issue for workers because careful surveillance of employees' attendance will be conducted hardly by employer. Muhammad Ahkam, a well known psychologist of industrial and organization, reveals that some companies which allow their employees to do their work outside shows a gradual decline of influx. This is because most of their workers escape from their obligation. However, workers do no need to be like this and concern about skipping can be reduced if employees are properly supervised. In any case, BBC News reported some attendance application can be used to give employers the status of their workers, working or skipping, albeit they take on a job in outside of the workplace.

A part from previous explanations, a modern breakthrough opens up the possibility for worker having their job in outside. In an case such notion is bound to boost employee's productivity since home can create a pleasant-work atmosphere. A 2012 Leeds University study found that 86 % of workers in UK who move their work from offices to their houses tend to easily avoid stress. This opportunity means that an outdoor working is very worthwhile and eclipses any fears about poor performance.

In conclusion, Working outside given to workers and the eventually a chance to enhance their performance because of advanced technology as a merit far outweigh the supposed disadvantages of work at home.