Spanish Language proficiency

3. A requirement = student will have achieved low intermediate Spanish proficiency by the time they reach their third year of medical school. Explain your current Spanish proficiency and/or plan for meeting this requirement (1900 characters)

In high school, I took two years of French. I know that Spanish is more practical but it wasn't a choice offered at my school. As it turned out, learning four more years of advanced French in college gave me a way to connect and converse with a whole different bunch of folks across the world. I was so fascinated by its culture that I decided to minor in French. Unfortunately the heavy upper-level courses in college didn't allow me to accommodate a time-consuming minor in languages.

Actually I started learning Spanish while working at the local cafe at Austin, Texas. In order to communicate with the kitchen staff, I forced myself to learn basic conversational Spanish. Interestingly, my years of French lessons really helped me in understanding the Spanish language. Most of the Spanish word are similar to French words because both languages come from the Latin.

In addition, I have traveled quite extensively and have developed an ear for different languages and regional dialects of the respective countries where I lived. Now I speak fluent Chinese and Indonesia and understand three other dialects--Sundanese, Cantonese and Taiwanese.

Thus, as much as my Spanish proficiency may be limited, I am confident that I can pick up the language pretty well through the conversational classes that I anticipate to take. In fact, I am really excited to take Spanish classes as I have always been an enthusiast for languages and cultures. I also plan to watch some of my favorite movies in Spanish. This is an easy and fun way of learning since many movies today comes with multilingual functions. Previously experiences have told me that this has a double effect--first it introduces me to words whose definition I'm already familiar with; and secondly due to its conversational style, it teaches me the an authentic way of conversing.