Is the speaking competence or the writing ability playing a more decisive role in people's life

the significance of speaking and writing

Both the ability of writing and speaking are the basic tools for us to make a live in the society. When it comes to the question of whether the speaking competence is more decisive than writing ability, people varying in education backgrounds and professions tend to have distinctive views.

However, I am in favor of the statement that speaking competence is more essential than writing capability. People with excellent speaking ability are more likely to succeed. Since the eloquent people can express themselves easily and persuade people to favor their thoughts.

For instance, in ancient china, a diplomat of Qin dynasty named Yizhang accomplish the task excellently using his communication skills. His extraordinary persuasion make the rival countries believe that their cooperation with Qin dynasty would be beneficial to them instead of allying with each other against Qin dynasty. Consequently, the Qin dynasty gradually unified the whole china.

Moreover, a competent speaker is easier to make friends with people. People trend to build a good relationship with one who can express his feelings and views accurately and vividly. Besides, a good speaker always means that he is humor and open mind, which are key factors when we choose friends. My roommates Lin who was not good at speech was always disappointed that he was a unpopular man. He always feels lonely because he has no friends. What is more, he was too shy to speak with others. His change occur when I recommend a book named the art of speech to him, which help people who have difficulty in speech improve their speaking competence. Over the past two years, he practiced the skills of communication constantly and thus became more and more open and have many friends.

The speaking ability is also critical in our careers. Almost all the vacations need the skill of communication. A teacher need a excellent speech competence to impart knowledge to students. A lawyer has to acquire a outstanding persuasion ability to help his client. In a globalized age it is inevitable that people from various country with different cultures would have to cooperate with each other. Hence people need pay more attention to speaking competence .

All in all, with the above careful analysis of the significance of speaking and writing, we can tell that people with strong capability in speaking enjoy more opportunities to promote and publicize oneself, and people who lack of such ability will obviously fail to achieve that.