Sports sponsorship has become a popular marketing tool used by several corporations

Many companies today sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves

Sports sponsorship has become a popular marketing tool used by several corporations. While the bulk of the general public regards it as a beneficial tendency for the world of sports, others are concerned about its demerits. This essay will examine both standpoints before concluding that I side with the former.

On the one hand, there are several downsides associated with companies sponsoring sports. Chief among them is the potential that financial gain may overshadow the core values and traditions of the sport. Consequently, the rectitude of the sport may get doubted by its fans. To illustrate, the recent commercialization of the FIFA World Cup 2022, the most prestigious football tournament, has faced criticism from football fans as the tournament has accepted sponsorships from corporations with records of violating human rights, causing doubts about the event's genuineness.

On the other hand, business sponsorship has positive impacts on the sports sector. As sponsorship provides much-needed financial support to sports teams and events, which can help them improve facilities and equipment for athletes. As a result, their players can maintain the best form and achieve several titles for the clubs. For example, the multi-million-dollar deals between City Football Group and Manchester City have provided the players with state-of-the-art gym centres and cutting-edge training facilities. As a result, the club has reaped titles and broken records in recent years.

In conclusion, although corporate sponsorship in sports is advantageous, I assume these aids may excessively commercialize the world of sports given the disputes around the FIFA World Cup 2022.