Should students concentrate more on the subjects they like?

Some parents feel that students should focus on all subjects equally. Others believe that students should concentrate more on the subjects they are interested in. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that parents are concerned about the upbringing as well as the education of their toddlers more than ever before. Some hold the opinion that children should concentrate on the subjects of their interest while others believe that they should focus on all subjects. In my perspective, students in their first classes must learn all subjects and then focus the modules of their interest in their higher classes.

Firstly, leaving the choice of subjects to students at the primary level may make them like easy modules with a little practical significance. For instance, it takes a lot of effort and practice to study mathematics and science, whereas filling colours in the pictures may seem quite fascinating to the primary school students. Therefore, it is not recommended to make the choice of subjects at the disposition of children in primary level.

Secondly, forcing mature students to learn all the subjects may lead to loss of their interest in studies. Therefore, at a higher level students should be given the right to choose subjects according to their preference. Teaching a group of unrelated subjects to students at high school may be a waste of time and effort. For instance, when I was in higher secondary level preparing for my admission in a medical college, studying subjects like history and geography as essential modules were a nuisance to me. As this example shows higher school students should be given an opportunity to concentrate on their specialized subjects.

In summation, it is good to get students learn all the subjects at the primary level, but in the higher classes they should be given a space to concentrate on their areas of interest.