Students desire to study other courses beside their majors

Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects

Many undergraduates claim that they have the desire to study other courses beside their majors. Whereas, others argue that it would be more beneficial to concentrate only on their main disciplines. In my opinion, I gravitate towards the former perspective because of the reason that I am going to explain in this essay.

Learning discipline that only related one's profession so as to achieve a certification can have many merits while seeking for a job. As nowadays, most organizations would prefer to recruit staffs who are expert at their own fields and one of the most prevalent ways to assess the capability and knowledge of applicants is through their qualifications. This can help employees increase their marketability in a highly competitive labour market. Furthermore, staffs who possess a degree in their majors are also more prioritized when they usually obtain higher wages than those who do not have .

However, I believe that gaining more skills and knowledge about a variety of subjects in this rapidly changing world can help university students stand a higher chance of not becoming unemployed. Having an insight into many field can help students entering tertiary education can enlarge their opportunities to apply in a wide range of occupations especialy in the covid-19 pandemic when most of the companies struggled with their businesses, some have became bankrupt, some had to lay off a large number of employees. For example, my aunt was dismissed from her office job as her company was not able to pay for her salary However, being fluently in english has assisted her to become an online teacher in an english center. This can improve not only her finance but also the ability to adapt to a diverse working environment.

In conclusion, although i do think that undergraduates should have in-depth insights about their majors having marginal knowledge and skills is more advantageous for them in the current society with constant alterations.