Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary?

Libraries necessity in the modern world

Students today can easily access information online, so libraries are no longer necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that people, these days, prefer reading and seeking information online to reading books and magazines in libraries by means of the available Internet. From my perspective, even though there are a huge variety of benefits of Internet in information providing functions, I would argue that libraries are more superior.

On the one hand, reading online is becoming a common feature among people, and students in particular since it is probably cost-effective and time-saving. In fact, youngsters are more likely to have access to information and knowledge on the Internet whenever and wherever as long as there is a good wi-fi connection, and they do not have to spend a great deal of money buying books or commuting to book stores in a regular basic. Moreover, Internet offers a wide range of information and news in different fields, which are not only national ones but also international ones. Thus, just with a click within seconds, people may have a massive amount of information appearing in the screen, which results in enhancing and upgrading the knowledge for people.

On the other hand, books in particular and libraries in general are still perceived to strengthen their dominant role in the world of technological advances. Firstly, books are deemed as a reliable source of information since they are written and edited carefully by professional experts and writers as well as censored heavily prior to be published and released the public. Hence, books allow students to do research in depth without worrying the accuracy and precision of information. Secondly, for those who would have the feeling of touching every single page, books and magazines are genuinely still essential. It is obvious that due to the hustle and bustle of city life, people just want to enjoy their days by reading a traditional press, sipping a cup of coffee, and turning over gently each page, which is extremely enjoyable and pleasant.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the fact that people and students find it easy to look for knowledge online, libraries are still dominant in our life, at least in providing reliable information and experiencing the feeling of touching each page.