Public libraries are no longer important / replaced by gadgets

is it true that libraries have lost their significance?

Some people think that public libraries are no longer important while others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is argued by some individuals that libraries have lost their significance over the past few decades while there are others who consider them as an indispensable part of the society. Both the opposing arguments will be discussed before a reasoned conclusion is decided upon.

To begin with, there are umpteen reasons why people assert that libraries are not required nowadays. Firstly, they maintain that the cumbersome tasks of going to the library and investing time in searching the books have been simplified by the introduction of the internet. Along with this, various gadgets such as iPads and smartphones provides quick and easy access to information. Thus, the internet equips the users to acquire knowledge in an expeditious manner which completely rules out the possibility of going to the libraries. In addition, plenty of individuals claim that the maintenance of public libraries involves a lot of expenditure which puts a burden on the government funds.

However, many others see libraries as a crucial part of society. They believe that libraries are recreational places where people can socialize and gain knowledge at the same time. Moreover, in some public libraries, there may be a provision of a wide range of archaic and local documents which would not otherwise be available on the internet, for obtaining information. In addition, libraries provide a serene and comfortable environment in which the readers can read without the presence of any distractions. Therefore, the libraries offer a lot of benefits to the people and they are considered to be irreplaceable.

In summary, after looking at these two opposing views, it can be seen that although libraries are being replaced by various gadgets, and they require high maintenance yet the advantages of libraries certainly outweigh the disadvantages. Hence, it is felt that libraries are an invaluable asset to society in terms of fostering social relationships along with providing extensive information.