IELTS2 - It's students, not teachers, choice to learn the material. Who's of control over studying?

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is the teacher's responsibility to make a student learn the material.

Use specific details and examples to support your answer.

For some, learning new things comes as natural as breathing, but for others, the learning process can become one of life's hardest parts. It's in this case that the question regarding responsibilities arises: who's fault is it that the student didn't learn the subject? One may say that it's the teacher's duty, but for me personally, I believe this responsibility relies on the student, due to the fact that each person has a choice to augment their knowledge by learning new things.

The first reason I believe students are responsible for learning the subject is because they are the ones that have a goal in mind, and studying just gives them the tools to reach it. Even when studying becomes a goal in itself, the process of learning is a means to an end. For example, when I was in high school there were subjects that I didn't enjoy studying, nevertheless I studied them because it was in my best interest to get the best grade I could, so that in the future I would've a better starting position to finding a better job or being accepted in a good university.

Additionally, the responsibility for learning the subject relies in the student because he is the only one capable to retain the information that is given. Even if the teacher makes all the efforts humanly possible for their students to learn and teaches the material in the best way possible, at best it will only be a guide for the student. There's no way the teacher can force a student to learn and retain information, because he doesn't have the power to control what information each one retains in their brains. In the end, each and every one of has has the choice to incorporating new knowledge or not.

Finally, students are responsible for learning the material due to the fact that the best learning there is comes from a personal process. In my experience, the learning process that has yielded the best results does not always comes from the teacher or other people, but from myself. Doing a lot of practice, be it exercises, reading or other things, I believe that one can best retain the information when you practice by yourself. There is no better way to really prove you have learnt something than by facing a problem alone and solving it using your own thinking and tools acquired through the learning process.

In conclusion, I believe that students are responsible for learning the subject due to the fact that they are the only ones capable of making the choice whether to augment their knowledge by learning new things. This is for the reasons explained above, such as individual goals, capabilities to retain information and that teachers are guides for the learning process.