[IELTS WRITING TASK 2] More and more students at university today are not chosing to study science

MORE AND MORE STUDENTS AT UNIVERSITY TODAY ARE NOT CHOOSING TO STUDY SCIENCE.

WHY IS THIS HAPPENING? WHAT ARE THE EFFECTS OF THIS?

Nowadays, there are an increasing number of undergraduates who do not enjoy studying science-related courses. This essay will first explore why some science courses might become irrelevant to students, and then it will discuss how this might impede the advancement of contemporary technology.

One of the most pertinent explanations for this circumstance is the possibility that some students' future employment may not require science. It implies that they would not pay attention when studying science, which demands a high level of memorizing and logical thinking ability; as a result, their decision is to withdraw from these science courses. A great illustration of this is how more and more college students are choosing to major in subjects other than science, such as art or music, in order to develop a wide range of specific skills that may be applicable to their line of work.

Numerous negative outcomes could result from this problem, but the most significant one is that it may decrease the quality of many businesses' products. This is because modern business owners' top priority is to create cutting-edge machines and make a profit from them. If that occurs, employees' general knowledge cannot keep up with formal evolution. As an example, many low-quality modern devices produced by some unreputable companies are harming their customers.

In conclusion, even though their future careers will not involve technology, undergraduates should acquire a wealth of scientific knowledge. Only by acting accordingly can a dynamic development future be maintained.