Ielts Writing task 2 : Studying abroad - Discuss both views

writing task:

Many students now have the opportunity to study in other countries.

Studying abroad may bring some benefits to some students, but it also has a significant number of disadvantages.

Discuss both sides of the argument and give your own opinion

It is true that nowadays there is the ubiquitousness of studying overseas among students. Advocates of this trend claim that it offers various advantages while opponents assert studying abroad may cause some fundamental consequences. In my point of view, I believe that its benefit may eclipse its drawbacks.

On one hand, it is true that students have to confront a wide range of problems when they live in another country. The economic burden is the first demerit. Studying abroad is associated with many costs including tuition fees, travel expenses, and cost of living, which may lead to student debt. Another issue students have to encounter is homesickness. Students are obligated to live far from their hometown when studying overseas. As a result, the state of homesickness always occurs affecting negatively their education performance. Moreover, they may hesitate to communicate due to the unfamiliar, this may harm their mental health.

Having said that, I believe studying abroad delivers many benefits. Firstly, it may enhance the practical skills of students. Living in another country requires people to learn a new language for the sake of interacting with locals, therefore, ex-pats are forced to practice their language skills on a daily basis. As a result, they can reach a professional level in using the native language. Moreover, when students study in another country, they have to build their life by themselves, which promotes their independence, self-reliance, and maturity. Secondly, it would appear students who study in a foreign country have more job prospects. Having studied abroad, students have chances to experience a brand-new country with a novel culture contributing to developìng a more sophisticated worldview. This view helps them become more easily adaptable to situations requiring international interaction Based on the conducted research, eighty percent of the overseas students said that studying abroad allowed them to work in diverse environments. Needless to say, it is a great advantage regarding attracting employers, especially in the globalized world nowadays.

In conclusion, studying abroad contains both pros and cons. In my perspective, its potential benefits in terms of personal growth and career opportunities heavily overweigh its drawbacks. However, students who intend to study abroad still should have good preparation mentally and financially to confront unexpected situations