Summary New Scientist - Food made from natural gas

Food made from natural gas will soon feed farm animals - and us

In the meantime, a biotechnology company called Calysta, based in Menlo Park, California, introduces an alternative food for animals from natural gas, methane. By using a bacterium called Methylococcus capsulatus. The bacteria are grown in vats, fed methane, and are then dried and turned into pellets. According to Alan Shaw, the head of Calysta, this invention will be also implemented for humans' need. This idea occurs because consideration of greenhouse gas has a dangerous level where using fossil fuels as an energy source as opposed to sunlight is not very environmentally sound. Therefore, in theory, carbon emissions could be remarkably dropped by using methane from a renewable source, such as bio-gas from farm waste or landfill sites. We can imagine that no either animals or trees have to be dead because of daily consumption of human. The result of report concluded that Calysta's feed has tiny water and use of land compared with all the other ways of manufacturing feeds. (160 words)