TED Summary: The Taboo Secret To Better Health by Molly Winter

Molly Winter reveals her idea in making innovation in sanitation. She said that about seven millions people got sick and 900 people died annually in US. It is caused of drinking sewage water. Every morning you go to the toilet and take a shower, then, have you ever think where are those things go? She asked her audiences. She mention one taboo issue about excrement and feces( in the scientific words) or "poo" and "pee"( childish word) which can be used to fertilize the food. Thus, if we can get those into our soil bank, it is going to absorb carbon dioxide that we put into the air. It helps to slow the global warming. Therefore, she introduces her organisation as Recode. It is about integrate water management approach. She gave the example one of the high-rise residential building in downtown of Portland. They are not flushing to the sewer system, but their wash water is reused by using cool mechanical system. It is useful for watering the landscape and giving nutrients to the plants. It is the updating the surrounding sewer infrastructure. Finally, some brave and open-minded people sit down and feel comfortable saying " that makes sense", and we can save energy and save money.