[IELTS TASK 2] TAKING PARENTING COURSES DUE TO SEVERAL REASONS

TOPIC: New parents should attend parenting courses to bring up their children well.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People's opinions differ as to whether or not new parents should take classes on child-rearing. Although these courses are sometimes considered unnecessary, I completely agree with the idea that those who become parents for the first time should attend parenting classes due to several reasons below.

To begin with, a great deal of advocates are inclined towards the fact that taking up classes is a good option to be well-prepared. Firstly, this would help them to overcome the anxiety of dealing with a child as they master the basics of parenting skills. For example, a woman who hasn't changed diapers or breastfed a newborn baby before would definitely feel worried about whether she can do it or not. Secondly, parenting classes could help them be ready for any emergency situations that might happen, such as choking or breathing issues. Consequently, parents will deal with their child in a composed manner and avoid making errors. Furthermore, taking courses could be the best way to create a new support system as new parents will interact with those who share similar dilemmas.

In addition, taking up childcare classes would also offer parents certain benefits. First of all, they will learn how to manage their emotions and build confidence. A clear understanding of how to bring up a child will help minimise mistakes, properly plan for every step forward, thereby keeping stress levels down. Moreover, parenting classes could help parents establish a strong relationship with their partner. To illustrate, by discussing some important questions on nurturing techniques, they could get to understand each other, which is certainly an essential aspect of a close-knit family.

In conclusion, as parenting could be considerably challenging and first-time parents need a holistic approach, I am inclined towards the view that they should take classes to take care of their infants.