Ielts writing task 2 - technology impact on tradition

Traditional Skills Being Lost

When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, technology has considerably evolved, as well as people's quality of life. Some assert that the old tradition are out of trend now and can be abandoned. In contrast, others claim that the convention still has its own value. My stance is more in line with the latter based on following reasons.

First and foremost, the major rationale for saving the culture, is to secure the path of ancestors. Owing to the culture, people can identify their value and find their attribution. The human is always a group animal. It is important for us to find a group to rely on. If these ancient residents didn't use their old wisdom to build up the civilisation, modern people would not be alive. Therefore, modern people should not forget their own convention because it is the result of ancestors with blood, sweat and tear.

Furthermore, most new inventions, in fact, adopt the wisdom of ancient skills. For instance, water bottles have been used over 2000 years, how can people consider them as a new technology or old one. Based on this example, technology is the result of ceaseless advance. Also, not only can technology make our life more convenient, it can also help restore the culture. Although materials including monuments and works of art might disappear one day because of the flow of time, spirits can last forever in computers.

In a nutshell, although tradition inevitably tend to be branded as a negative term, I am convinced that both convention and new evolution are both essential and can create a win-win situation to our life.