Are Technology and Tradition incompatible? ; TOEFL

t is a fact that the advancement in science and technology often accompanies decline in historical traditions. This is not necessarily a good thing, but helpful because we eliminate out dated part of traditions while preserving the useful part. Also, it is natural that people find convenient ways of doing things.

First of all, increased understanding in science and technology helps us to get rid of useless and harmful superstitions. For example, we all know that thunder and lightening are not the results of gods being angry, but are electrical current in the air. Likewise, flood is not the result of angry gods because people do not offer sacrifice to the gods regularly, which is a common belief decades ago. These superstitions are out of date, so modern science helps us to clarify them.

Secondly, our life has been made much easier because the advancement of technology. For instance, computer, along with the Internet, is one of the greatest inventions in the 20th century, and now it is used extensively by almost everyone.

We can enjoy the convenience of "home shopping" via Internet. All you have to do is to visit a shopping website, click on the item you want to buy and make an online payment. It is much easier than having to shopping on foot. The second convenience that Internet brings us is " home office", that is, people do not need to go to the office anymore. They can simply work at home and communicate with their colleagues using email or cell phone. This makes working a lot more comfortable and enjoyable.

Thirdly, technology can help us to preserve useful and pleasant aspects of our cultural traditions. Take the Chinese Lantern Festival as an example. Traditionally, people would make lanterns using red paper and bamboos. However, now people use modern material to make to lantern and use beautiful patterns design by computer programs to make them look more attractive. In addition, now people use light bulbs to light the lanterns instead of candles, so the lanterns are less likely to burn and are therefore much safer.

For the reasons discussed above, I strongly welcome the advancement of science and technology. In the meantime, we should not forget that there are useful traditions to be preserved and superstitions to be eliminated.