TOEFL: Television advertising directed toward children under the age of five should not be allowed.

Television advertising directed toward children under the age of five should not be allowed.

Television advertising is one of the greatest advertising businesses in the world of marketing since there are specific advertisements dedicated to the demographic and location. Therefore, television advertising should not be directed towards children under the age of five because it will not be efficient and can obstruct children education.

As mentioned before, television marketing is a colossal marketing investment. There are specific layouts and factors which professionals scheme and predict to fully exploit the advantages of television advertising. However, five-year-old children will barely comprehend any advertisement, let alone watch the television on their own whim. Even if they do watch several television advertisements, five-year-olds are not capable of desiring or even expressing the desire to their parents. With a demographic of five-year-olds, television advertising professionals will have a difficult time imagining a short advertisement drawing attention from both the targets and parents simultaneously. There are reports of how children under the age of eight cannot differentiate commercials from programs. Indeed, an advertisement is worthless if the target cannot even comprehend what it is that they are trying to sell. Therefore, television advertising directed toward children under the age of five should not be allowed for the efficiency of advertising is not worth investing.

Although children under the age of five cannot comprehend or distinguish commercials from programs, this does not necessarily mean the children will not be influence. Letting a child sit and stare at the flashing screen for long periods will steadily change how their mind works. Like a virus propagating in the human body, these commercials will grow inside the child and as a result, the act of watching television will transform from a hobby to a tenacious habit. In effect, when these children begin their education, they will have a difficult time concentrating on classes or on their homework since their minds are already suited to concentrate on flashing images from a television instead. Hindering children's education can result to a dangerous and arduous future which is why nothing should block children's education and television commercial is no exception. In order to preserve children's education, television advertisements directed for children under the age of five should not be established.

Television commercials dedicated to five-year-old children is out of the question because it is unproductive for the market as much as harmful for children's education. (388)