IELTS; How Television impact on cultural development?

Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies. To what extend do you think television has positively or negatively affected cultural development?

Recent years have witnessed the boom of television and people today still has mixed views on whether it has a positive or a negative influence on culture. As for me, it damages culture.

There is no denying that television, a form of mass media, is playing an increasingly important indispensable role in disseminating cultures and values due to its easily accessibility and availability. People of all backgrounds like to watch television. Besides, no matter ranging from advertisements to various television series, numerous cultural values embedded behind them. Learning and acquisition of culture worldwide can be done by watching vivid image provided on television without going out. It is television that makes the globe village closer.

However, the negative impacts on culture that brought by TV can also be justified. Those cultures from stronger countries can easily erode those cultures in less wealthy countries, because they have a strong financial position to assert their own culture by producing more programmes that are shown widely around the world. This makes the indigenous cultures in those less developed countries are on the brink of extinction, since they are less spread and recognized. Furthermore, cultural assimilation is inevitable happening. The good example illustrates this point is in the present days, Western cultures such as British and US culture are preferable and acceptable among the younger generations.

In conclusion, TV assumes a critical culture-spreader role, we should keep in mind while enjoying appreciating other cultures, we should not let it drain our own culture.