Television and its powerful influences; can simultaneously benefit and ruin our cultural development

Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies. To what extent would you say that television has positively or negatively affected the cultural development of your society?

- You should write at least 250 words.

- Allow yourself 40 minutes for this task.

Television has always been the tool, which can easily influence many societies. It is perfectly understandable, since most of the people these days tend to watch TV 6 hours a day. This can either influence horribly on our society or positively on our cultural development. For example, television can broaden our people's horizon by rendering lots of knowledge of any aspects. On the contrary, it can impart us with some noxious knowledge. Therefore, I am personally convinced that television can simultaneously benefit and ruin our cultural development.

There are numerous channels on our TV. Each of them has its own benefits. Those benefits can help our people to be more knowledgeable, because knowledge is never a waste. For pragmatic instance, I, as a worker who has a tendency to watch Animal planet a lot, can have a huge benefit. Animal planet allows me to understand about the animal's life a little bit more. This also applies to other individuals, who watch TV. As a result, television can truly strengthen our people as well as our society.

Aside from its pros, television can convey us with pointless information such as drugs, horrible celebrities and others. This might affect negatively to our society and the people, who live in it. I can recall myself, having a friend, who used to worship a certain celebrity through the TV. This celebrity, ironically, was into drugs and sex abuse. My friend, who used to be a nice guy tried to turn himself into the guy, who he used to worship. After two years, his personality completely altered in a negative way. He began to smoke and did some inappropriate things in front of the police. Hence, television also impacts terribly on our culture.

The aforesaid evidence shows that television, as a utility for spreading information, can harm and advocate our cultural development. Taking all the points into account, I believe that it is still uncertain, whether television spoils or supports our culture more.