Essay: television influence on people's behaviour. The effect is negligible.

Hi, everyone! As a non-native speaker, I would very appreciate any messages about my grammar mistakes. Thank you for reading!

how movies or television affect people?

In the following essay, I would like to express my opinion in regard to the question how movies or television affect people's behaviour. There is a tidal wave of concerns about negative charge which is carried by television programmes and movies. Some people believe that instead of providing young generation with socially accepted images of prominent figures and authorities and foster teenagers, television conversely corrupts moral of its spectators.

According to this view, producers and directors of TV production are socially responsible for the content of their programmes. According to statistics, an average teenager spends up to 4 hours a day watching TV. The ubiquitousness of personal computers and the internet has only worsened the situation, as nowadays spectators have access to billions of movies. Moreover, some movies deliberately break the rules of moralities and widely accepted social conventions in the attempt to gather attention and attract a shocked spectator by the taste novelty. There are some cartoons such as "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" which constantly and intentionally satirizes the core values of our society. No wonder that the rising generation which for years has been exposed to images of lazy and careless father Homer Simpson and his naughty and mischievous child Bart Simpson (from 'The Simpsons' cartoon) can pick up their mindset and thought patterns.

However, it is well worth noticing that this point of view does not take the following reasoning into account. Television programmes and movies do not have to directly teach their viewers some moral laws and obligation, not least because in that TV production would morph into lifeless and tedious notations instead of entertainment. However, they indeed can mirror the society and reflect its moral flaws and misdeeds to spectators. Such reflections, for example, made in mentioned above cartoons, can make the viewer think about moral dilemmas much more efficiently than straight notations.

To conclude, I believe that influence of television programmes and movies on people behaviour is negligible and people can not justify their misdeeds by the negative influence of TV.