Test 1 TOEFL. Summarize a reading and listening passage.

To understand human personality and how it develops there are different approaches, the most common are the conflict approach and the fulfillment approach. It is curious to note that each approach is completely contrary of the other.

In the conflict approach it is said that the person is in a perpetual state of conflict. This could be either because there are competing forces within that person, in the moment f taking a decision for instance, or because of external forces that oppose the individual's internal feelings; tasks and duties could be an example of this in our daily lives. Finally, the hypothesis of this approach is that we live in a never ending conflict, and that is what shapes our personality.

Meanwhile the fulfillment approach states the opposite: It is not a conflict between forces that develops our personality but a single force that is the need for fulfillment. Here the individual's goals and how hard he works to reach them will shape his or her personality. Furthermore, his successes or failures will determine how the person will react in the future. In the end, it is the life that we have envisioned and not our actual life that will contribute to our personality.