Theoretical knowledge and qualifications should never be underestimated - crucial in the job market

Question: In today's job market it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

the most important quality of an employee?

In a highly competitive job market these days, the question of what is the most important quality an employee should have has become a topic discussion. Although practical skills are required in almost any jobs, their importance cannot be compared to the necessity of theoretical knowledge and formal qualifications.

There are a number of reasons why academic knowledge is of vital importance in today's job market. First, many professions require individuals to have a complex understanding of theories and hypothesis, especially in the field of research. For example, in order to become a data scientist, the sexiest job in the 21st century, students have to learn a variety of academic courses, such as mathematics and computer science. Second, plenty of evidence suggested that people who study theoretical subjects have the ability to solve problems faster than normal people, which results in higher income. It is clear that problem-solving is the most in-demand job skill for over past decades.

On the other hand, formal qualifications are necessary for companies and those who search for jobs. First, by looking through candidates' academic accomplishments, a company can directly pick the appropriate candidates. This benefits not only for the company itself but also for those who apply for the job. Second, formal qualifications are useful for people to show off their achievements. In fact, people who earn many certificates can easily stand out of the norm, which increases their chance of getting a job.

In conclusion, theoretical knowledge and qualifications should never be underestimated because of its necessity in the job market. Schools and universities should take steps to engage students in the academic field.