IELTS Writing Task 2 - Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Write about the following topic:

It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives.

Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Write at least 250 words.

There are some ideas that it is crucial for individuals to get out of their comfort zones, not only in their careers but in their private lives. From my perspective, I am of the opinion that taking risks has more advantages that outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, risk-taking can sometimes cause unwilling results. For example, you want to quit your current job to start a business, but you are not really an expert in this field. Then the company may go bankrupt. This will lead to a note of depression, which can affect both your mental and physical health, whether you do not manage to overcome it immediately. Additionally, many employees will become laid-off so they cannot help their families with living expenses. Another example is having the intention to move to a different nation to study, but you do not learn about it in advance. This may cause some inevitable problems such as language barriers, racial discrimination, etc.

On the other hand, taking risks can sometimes do wonders for you. This means if you are well-prepared to embrace risks to fulfill your dream, although the possibility of success is just as high as that of failures, you may have the chance to make it. For instance, trying to ask your consultant before starting to operate your own business, shows you the right orientation to follow whether you get distracted.

To conclude, risk-taking is not always a bad idea to try. It is worthwhile if you learn how to actualize it in a sensible way.