IELTS Writing Task 2 - topic about crime prediction

Task 2: Scientists believe that by studying the behavior of 3-year-old children, people can predict if those children can become criminals in the future.

To what extent is crime a product of human nature? Is it possible to stop children from growing to be a criminal?

[b]Research on the behavior of 3-year-old children is believed to be beneficial in predicting those children's likelihood to become criminals in the future. In my stance, crime could not be determined by genetics. Besides, there are some possible proposals to mitigate the trend of youngsters committing crimes in their adulthood.

To begin with, studying behavior of people when they are 3 years old could not assure that they would be criminals later on in life since their behavioral patterns are greatly influenced by life conditions. In other words, adversity in childhood is more likely to contribute to a child's crime in the future in lieu of their human nature. Specifically, household dysfunction may gradually form negative thinking and aggressive characteristics which would motivate juveniles to commit crime in their adulthood. Additionally, a vast majority of juvenile delinquency is rooted in poverty and the deficiency of proper education. As a matter of fact, people' behavior may alter through time depending on their external living environment. Therefore, early projection of a child's tendency to become criminals is irrational from my viewpoint.

Nevertheless, the cooperation between parents and the authorities may be helpful to mitigate the rate of juvenile delinquency. Initially, parents should be educated on how to be decent caregivers. It is of significance for parents to provide stable upbringings and a supportive familial environment to their children. The implication of this is that youngsters could be able to develop comprehensively without any mental illness that might be their crime motivation. Furthermore, the states ought to make crime and law-related lessons obligatory in school curriculum since education would act as a beneficial crime deterrent. As a result, children could be aware of the consequences of committing illegal activities and thereby minimizing their likelihood to become criminals in the future.

In conclusion, it remains steadfast in my belief that rather than human nature, crime is more likely to spring from people' external living conditions. Hence, I contend that the governments and the children' parents could bear the main responsibility to prevent youngsters growing up to be criminals.