[WRITING IELTS TASK 2] Topic Social

Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional and religious festivals; During the festive period, people today just want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that the meaning of traditional and religious festivals has been forgotten, in which people just enjoy themselves. While I understand why some people support this opinion, I still firmly disagree with it.

Advocates of this view may have some arguments. Firstly, the festive periods are considered as leisure time instead of practicing traditions or religious practices. It can be exemplified by the fact that workers who have to work or study almost every day of the year except for national holidays want to enjoy their days off by traveling, sleeping, partying, or shopping. As a result, they may forget to practice religions and traditions. Secondly, traditional practices or religious beliefs themselves are not passed down thoroughly from generation to generation. For this reason, young generations may misunderstand their traditions, thereby spending these festive periods in their way which is considered as enjoying themselves.

Despite the aforementioned valid reasons, I am in total disagreement with this view. I believe that the core meaning of traditions or religions has been maintained and passed down to new generations while unnecessary or unsuitable beliefs and practices would disappear from time to time. Therefore, people nowadays are preserving and developing traditional and religious meanings in a proper, unselfish way. For example, in Tet holiday, Vietnamese adults don't have to make Chung cakes by themselves like their grandparents did in the past; and it is meaningful for them to come back home to gather with their families and wish all the best for each other. This is the way they share happiness with others during the special holiday.

In conclusion, it is understandable that some people think that most people are forgetting traditions and religions and only focusing on their own needs. However, I would still oppose this view.