IELTS task 2 topic:Why are young people leaving their homes from rural areas to study or

topic:Why are young people leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in the cities? Do advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

essay:

Recent decades have witness an obvious trend that young people leave their home from rural areas to the cities for the purpose of studying and working. In my opinion, it is the abundance resources and opportunities in the cities that attract young people. The positive influences of this development outweigh the negative ones.

The reason why young people move from their home in rural areas to cities is that obviously, there are more resources and opportunities available for them in cities than in their home. It is widely acknowledged that various schools, organizations as well as companies gather in cities, which is the guarantee of enrichment of social resources and opportunities. From student's perspective, they not only obtain knowledge from textbooks but also diversify their experiences by directly approaching those resources. Similarly, workers would find a large number of employment opportunities because of the presence of a vast number of employers in cities.

Obviously, both individual and society are benefit from this development. For individuals, the fact that by studying and working in cities, student and workers not only equip themselves with abundant knowledge and advanced technologies but also broaden their horizons lead individuals to be competent enough to maintain their daily life by their own efforts. For societies, the increasing of available talent pool is conducive to the development of technology and economy.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that such phenomenon exerts an unfavourable impact on the development of rural areas because of the loss of talents and labours. Consequently, under this circumstance, a serious unbalanced development between rural areas and cities will ensue. However, this can be avoided if certain policies can be made to prompt the return of talents after they accomplish a certain period of studying and working in the cities. As a result, the returnees together with the advanced technologies and external funds that brought by them will play an important role in the development of rural areas and help the rural areas keep the pace with cities.

To conclude, abundant resources and opportunities in cities are the main causes for young people to move from their home in rural areas to cities. As discussed above, I am convinced that the advantages of this development outbalance the disadvantages.