Travel during Public Holidays - Problems & Solutions

It is becoming increasingly popular for people to travel to tourist destinations during public holidays. What problem(s) does this cause? What solutions are there to these problems?

visitors on public holidays issue

It is true that many people spend their public holidays visiting travel destinations. This essay will argue that turning tourist sites into huge rubbish dumps during these periods of time is a serious downside and a viable way to solve this problem is to prepare more waste disposal facilities.

The danger of litter comes into sight at tourist attractions during national holidays. This is because the number of visitors is increasing rapidly these days and they usually leave behind not just their footprints but a vast quantity of waste after their sightseeing there. Unfortunately, the rubbish generated by tourists is unable to be processed immediately due to the limited capacity of local waste management facilities. For example, travelers often outnumber the resident population in some well-known tourist destinations in Vietnam such as Hoian and Sapa on public holidays and the rubbish they leave behind turns the environment into a place which is under threat of these pollutants because it takes days for locals to clean and process them thereafter.

In order to cope with this issue, governments should provide enough landfill sites on the spot during peak holiday seasons. Although this solution cannot help to enhance the capability for processing on a daily basis of local refuse disposal systems, it can prevent leaving huge mounds of rubbish lying in the open public areas which not only are an eyesore but also breed germs and pests. Another good way to implement this approach is to install more trash cans at tourist destinations because these waste containers are more convenient and easily be removed. According to a survey conducted in 2015 by the Tourist Review Magazine, two fifths of tourists suggested that the provision of extra garbage cans in many places of interest would tackle the problem mentioned.

In conclusion, the huge amount of rubbish being generated by visitors on public holidays endangers the environment of tourist destinations and governments should provide more temporary disposal facilities during this period to deal with it.