the two methods of manufacturing black tea

The aim of this report is to describe the traditional and modern method of manufacturing black tea.

The first step of these two processes is collecting good quality leaves.

In traditional method only bud and two top leaves are picked up from the plants while in modern method air is passed through leaves on rack.

The leaves picked from the plants are put in the rolling machine where they are rolled flat and broken. Opposite to the traditional method, modern method put the leaves to the cutting machine so they can be cut, torn and curled.

In addition to this, enzymes from leaves are released in the rolling process and granular pieces are created from the cutting process. Furthermore, rolled leaves are spread on tiles or cement where oxidation or fermentation occurs giving the leaves copper colour.

The last step is where the tea leaves are fired or dried. IN old fashioned way, they are put into oven where 97% moisture is removed. Nowadays leaves are dried by air dryer and therefore flavour and aroma is released.

In conclusion, modern method gives quicker way of producing black tea.