Should universities apply business-like skills instead of providing theoretical knowledge?

IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Check out my essay and give it the band score if possible. I'll appreciate it!

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer, what is ur opinion?

functional skills and practical knowledge in schools curriculums?

As there are so much changes in the qualifications and criteria needed in the workforce, many people are concerned about whether universities should apply business-like skills instead of providing theoretical knowledge in their curriculums. I firmly believe that it would be better off if universities provide their graduates with practical knowledge in the workplace.

Firstly, it is obvious that the main reason high-school graduates going to university is to obtain specific knowledge and skills, which will enable them to acquire a promissing occupation. In fact, most enterprises when recruiting personel usually demand a certain experience on their candidates. This request might at some point be difficult for fresh-graduates to comply if they did not get exposured to the real working situations when in university. Therefore, by providing practical knowledge,universities are facilitating their students to cultivate their well-rounded mind and become more mature and thus acquire better job prospect in the future.

Secondly, the curriculums in some universities are becoming old-designed and may be inappropriate as there are many alternative approaches. Students spending three of four years attending those classes may be a waste of their time, energy and money. If a university ultilize new modern teaching programmes, not only will its graduates be more competitive in the job market, but the university can itself keep pace with the technological developments and move forward.

That is not to say university should neglect the pure scientific research. There are many students interested in theoretical subjects such as maths and philosophy, who choose to become scientists or scholars. Unfortunately, those people are few.

In conclusion, i would argue that the advantages of universities applying functional skills and practical knowledge in their teaching programmes do outweigh the disadvantages.