Should universities provide skills for workplace? IELTS Essay

Hi Tutors, please help me to check this essay, will be much appraciated! Any commends will be helpful.

TAST 2

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course if useful to an employers.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is not a news that new graduates can't easily survive in reality world nowadays, usually self-centre and lack of practical skills are make job-finding harder and harder. Someone point out: University should start workplace kills training as soon as possible. But can we really blame on college education? Even though there is something university could improve, but personally I still think students should take the responsible themselves.

The priority reason for students gathering in university is to become more professional in their major. It's doesn't request everyone becomes an expert but with professional knowledge study and practice will greatly help students at work, No one will hire a programmer without knowing how to use computer. Besides, self-learning is another essential task when students spend time in university. As an public education institute, university standard teaching structure are prepared for most students but not everyone, students needs to learn themselves according their interests and study plan; and apparently working skill learning should be included in with more propose for graduation. Students who have internship experience are usually find job easier.

However, that's doesn't means there is nothing universities could do about it. Explore more internship opportunities; open lectures to teaching students how to start self-study, invite graduated students back to school and set up panel discussion are all able to help young students find out what their need.

In conclusion, universities should still focus on academic teaching, some lecture and more internship opportunity might have some side-assistance, but workplace skill should mostly learn by students themselves.