IELTS writing Task 2 (University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies)

Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

My Answer:

Nowadays many parents are sending their children to study in foreign countries for college. Despite the far distance they will have with their loved ones, students will gain a lot of knowledges that they will not regret later in their lives. In my opinion, although they may face some difficulties, studying abroad is far better than staying in their comfort zone.

One of the greatest benefits of studying in a different country is that it will provide unique life experiences and challenges because students will have chances to learn about different cultures and languages. For example, when I studied in the United States, I was forced to deal with people from all over all the world such as doing group projects or living with them, which enhanced my social skills and I have also learned how to blend in with people with varies cultural background. Studying overseas can give you challenges not only they will make you grow as a person, but also gain a valuable life skill.

On the other hand, one of the biggest drawbacks of studying overseas usually stem from parents being so far away. This may cause depression especially when students are facing difficulties in their daily lives. For instance, student may not be able to visit their parents often and may feel homesick every now and then. Furthermore, they cannot call their parents often because of time differences. However, in other words, it can force the young ones to be independent and learn to be on their own. Thus, despite the feeling of homesick, it may help you grow.

In conclusion, attending universities overseas has become the new norm for better education. Although students are no doubt far away from their home and root, they will gain incredible knowledges and unforgettable experience. It is my belief that spending time overseas for higher education is much more beneficial than getting education in local universities.