IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - Essay on unwinding mind with video games or outdoor activity.

Compare the physical, mental and social impacts of video games and outdoor activity?Which one do you prefer as a way of unwinding?

Video games and outdoor activities are popular among people as a way to relax after a monotonous day. Both of these activities have good and bad effects on the mind, body and social life. Although I belong to Generation-Z, I prefer outdoor activity over video games for unwinding my mind.

Video games can be only played from sitting on the couch or on a chair and if breaks are not taken between playing, it can cause back pain, poor posture and obesity which is related to physical health.On the other hand, outdoor activities such as basketball, football requires stretching and light exercises that helps to move body in free movement and to circulate blood properly.

Video games can keep one's mind in good shape if they play strategic and interactive ones. Otherwise violent games can cause psychological problems. Outdoor activity such as playing with pets in a park or outside can boost up mental health and playing team based games de-stress the mind. Outdoor activities can be only done in daytime but video games can be played either daytime or nighttime.

If someone plays a video game with their peers, then they can have communal interaction in that case. Otherwise playing alone doesn't make any social interaction. In outdoor activity, you get to meet a lot of people. From the conversations , one can create social connections which is a good way to improve social skills.

In conclusion, video games and outdoor activity both have merits and demerits. But I believe that outdoor activity should be prioritised because it has a lot more benefits than video games and a good way of unwinding.