Children watch a lot of TV and play video games - writing task 2(IELTS)

The 'screen staring' effect on kids

Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games.However, some people think that these activities are not good for the child's mental health.To what extent you agree or disagree?(please do score it)

Nobody can deny that in the recent years, children spend much of their time by watching television or playing video games. This issue has raised a great concern for some people who believe that these activities present several downsides on the children's psychology. However, I am convinced that spending a normal timespan can be proved beneficial for many reasons.

Firstly, children who constantly use electronic devices become techno-liberate at an early age in this increased technological-oriented society. Furthermore, there are video games and television programs which are designed to develop various skills of children such as critical and logical thinking, or even learning a new language. Spending time to on these activities can be both entertaining and educational and thus, young people do not perceive them as work, but they end up learning and having fun at the same time. For instance, Greek TV program "Rainbow" aims to educate children, from an early age, on how to interact with their peers and how to develop their social skills.

On the other side, few would dispute that these activities can be detrimental to the child's psychological health. To be more specific there are some online games or TV programs which include sexually explicit material or violent scenes. Children are the most vulnerable audience and they are surely affected from what they see. Moreover, chat rooms in video games have become the new playground for sexual predators who most of times try to manipulate unsuspecting children.

To sum up, this issue is far from black and white. Even though some negative effects are crucial, and we need to pay attention, I strongly believe that under normal circumstances this these kind of activities can have both educational and entertaining purpose.