IELTS - useful or harmful chemicals in our food

Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

chemicals and toxins in foods

Recently, agrotoxics and preservatives have become topic of debates in many countries, particularly in mega cities, raising relevant discussions among society. Overall, I agree that there are more negative impacts in our life than benefits, as I believe that diety is essential for health and this essay will argue regarding this point of view.

Firstly, additives used at food industries cause some illness and is the main issue on this matter. It is exemplified by the growing number of cancer rates in U.S. which is represented 9% of citizens are sick, as they changed their diets for convenience, rather than prepare their own meals. In addition to it, is believed that other illness such allergies and skin problems are commonly influenced by the plethora of complex unknown ingredients in the manufactured foods. Therefore, most people who need assistance on their health will likely cost more for public services.

Secondly, other reason why those chemicals in industry is harmful because it have not yet been clarified. For instance, transgenics, which is used in South America indiscrimed will be seen the consequence just for next years, as the researchers do not have information to demonstrate the results by introduced it in basic foods. Although the process with chemical can give more scalability in some companies, rather than normal natural way it has been put our society in enormous risk.

In conclusion, however the development at some manufactures utilizing chemical and toxins in foods to produce enough supply for population, I strongly believe that those chemical are extremely harmful for our health.