TOEFL: "I cannot wait back to my job"- social life vs job happiness

(I really appreciate it if someone can review this essay)

Despite some social celebrities insist that your career does not mean everything and "a full well-rounded life"is more important, it is undeniable even for them that the career does mean a lot and "the full well-rounded life" also centers around work. Therefore, for this topic, I believe that a person's job has more effect on his or her happiness.

For one thing, most people spend more time on their jobs than their social life. It is known to all that we have to work at least 40 hours every week, and that if we are lucky enough we can hang out with friends a couple of hours on weekends. The difference is obvious, and even those so-called party animals can not enjoy parties 8 hours per day, 5 days per week. It is all mathematics. The majority of lifetime where we attempt to pursue happiness is spent in our workplace rather than in friends' apartments and clubs.

For another thing, the situation of our career can influence our social life both positively and negatively. However, the opposite is another story. Here is an example. My friend Jill, who used to be overwhelmed by the laborious paper work and unsatisfied with the unstable income as a translator, always complained that she did not want back to her work when we had vacations together. It seemed that the bad mood from her work had been brought to her social life. Last year, she finally changed her job and became an interpreter for an international cooperation where the salary is considerable and the position is exactly what she had been dreaming about, even though she has to leave us friends and work abroad. Surprisingly, when she came home this winter, she was optimistic and delightful, and kept saying "I cannot wait back to my job". Apparently, besides the good salary and social status, an ideal job would give us real happiness.