Is it a waste of time to read news in newspapers and watch television news programs?

IETLS Writing task 2:

Some people think news has no connection to people's lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in newspapers and watch television news programs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Collecting news has long become an indispensable part of many people's lives, yet some argue that there is no point in checking the newspapers or watching television for news since it has little relevance to daily life. Personally, I do not concur with this view since I believe that news is of paramount importance to people's lives as it equips them with the information needed for decision-making and offers them profound insights into their own life and the world around them.

The first and foremost rationale for the vital role of news is that it informs people with the current state of affairs that can assist them to make wise decisions in their life. As an instance, news of the economic climate gives businessmen the basis to develop suitable strategies for their enterprises. A rise in oil prices, to be specific, can result in the escalating prices of myriad other materials and products, thereby raising the cost of production in plants. Another compelling example is the dissemination of health-related information. During the recent outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic, for example, people need to rely on the news in the newspaper and on TV to keep themselves updated with the numbers of cases, preventative measurements as well as lockdown policies from the government so that they can come up with the best plans to protect themselves and their families.

The second purpose that news can serve is to give people a better understanding of the collective world and their individual self. The news programs which feature war or hunger in Third world countries provide people in well-off states with a comprehensive view of what is actually happening on Earth, besides the luxuries of life they enjoy. Some people may propose an opposition that knowledge on those topics has little to no use in their life. However, I believe that these types of news can teach people to be grateful for what they have and thus motivate them to lead a more worthwhile life. Many people will also be encouraged to join hands in alleviating the suffering of their fellow human beings in less-developed or war-torn countries. Together, they can make the world a better place to live for everyone.

In conclusion, thanks to the news, people can make educated decisions that are in their best interest and at the same time gain knowledge about the outside world as well as their own life. On these grounds, there is no doubt that the role news plays is crucial to people's lives.