Although more and more people read news online, newspapers remain the most important source of news

IELTS task 2: Internet vs newspapers

Topic: Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the number of people surfing the Internet to update news is becoming larger.While many argue that newspapers will not lose its status as the most significant source of news, I believe that the Internet will be as popolar as newspapers.

On the one hand, I believe that newspapers persist in being a vital source of news. Firstly, there may still be individuals loyal to this traditional way to update news, particularly elderly people who have less chance to access the Internet and can spare time to devour a newspaper for seeking news. Secondly, newspapers will be able to remain a trustworthy source of news because it is written and edited by a professional unit of journalists.

On the other hand, it is more likely that the Internet will be equated with newspaper for two major reasons. One important reason is that the Internet is a convenient and fast source of news. In fact, anywhere one go, only with a smartphone connected with the Internet, he or she can update news in the country or around the world easily just by surfing and tapping. Another reason is sharing news capacity of the Internet. With Internet applications such as Facebook and Youtube, every individual can not only read a certain piece of news but they can also share it to friends and others so that those people are aware of, make comments and express their own attitudes towards the news. As a result, there may be much more interaction among readers rather than reading newspapers alone.

In conclusion, I do not agree with the opinion that newspapers will remain the most important source of news, but I believe that the Internet will play an equal role to newspapers.