ielts essay - ways of reducing traffic conditions

The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is certainly undeniable that traffic in cities today is deteriorating compared to previous times. This is clearly evident with the increasing number of vehicles on the roads resulting in long commuting hours. Some argue that this this due to people travelling from home to workplace, school or to other destinations like the shopping malls. They believe that by minimising the need for them to travel to such places, amount of traffic can be reduced. However, I agree to this solution only to a certain extent as there are better alternatives such as using the public transport and carpooling to trim down the traffic.

First and foremost, people can help to minimise traffic by reducing their travels outdoors. With the advent of the technology, Internet can be used for various purposes. Businessman can now carry out online-based trading and work from the comfort of their houses. Furthermore, students can communicate with their lecturers and classmates using messengers like Yahoo Messenger and Skype. Apart from that, through websites such as e-Bay, shoppers can purchase almost whatever they need from home. Hence, nowadays virtually everything can be done from home, thus reducing the need to travel to the required place.

Nevertheless, the aforementioned solution is not the only effective one that is available. People can use public transport more often than using their own private vehicles. Besides that, employees and students who are going to the same destinations can always car practise carpooling. On one hand, this will help to improve the traffic conditions on the road while on the other hand, since lesser vehicles are used, air pollution is also reduced.

Looking from another perspective, definitely there are certain drawbacks when people work from home. First of all, workers or students might not be as responsible as they can be when they attend work or classes respectively. This is because, when they are at home, they can start working or studying whenever they like. Consequently, they might end up being unreliable. On top of that, not all houses have access to the Internet. As such, people will have travel than to complete the task at home.

In short, it is clear that working indoors is not the only effective solution. There are also better ways such as carpooling and using the public transportation frequently. Although the former solution has some negative aspects, I believe that they can be avoided. If only each of us are able to contribute our parts, the amount of traffic can certainly be reduced.